Samyak hates elevators’ close-door buttons. Pressure Project 1.

Description: I hate pressing the ‘close-door’ buttons on elevators because they simply don’t work. Specifically, here are my problems with them:

  • Wastes space and clutters the button panel.
  • Source of confusion – “Does it not work? Does it take a while? Should I press harder? Am I pressing the wrong button?”
  • Unnecessary disappointment for user, instead of “placebo illusion of control.”

Illustrations of original experience: I enter an elevator. Try to manually close the elevator door to no avail. Confused, I try harder. Nothing happens. Door then closes automatically after 20 seconds.

storyboard

Storyboard of experiences with interventions (red)

panel

Presentation of Design Process.

designprocess

My Design Process diagram

After working on the group project earlier today, I came up with a 4 step process to interrogate a bad user-experience. The main goal of this process is to be able to magnify smaller experiences that usually go unnoticed. The steps are straightforward and can be used on a diverse range of problems. The biggest inspiration for Step 3 (stage creation) is because of my enthusiasm to make sketches to portray scenarios. Intervening turned out to be a great tool because it allowed me to pause my experience and examine each stage or product feature. This gave me a 3rd person perspective.

Description & Concept Sketches of proposed intervention.

potentialsolutions

Reflection on the challenges of designing for myself

Designing for myself was challenging because the experience was so small. By small, I mean it occurred in a relatively small timeframe. This made it difficult for me to express the problem, my emotions, and the realizations. That’s why I looked back to our classroom activity and decided to implement the storyboard in my analysis and intervention strategy.

Designing for myself was also slightly obscure, because I’m the sole test subject – and a very biased one. Most of my UX decisions were catered to serve my needs and align to my emotions. What if someone out there loves being in control and would rather press a fake button than wait idly for 20 seconds? What if someone really wants to manually close the door and wants a functional button? As a designer, it was a very selfish feeling to demand a functional change based on my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

