Pressure Project 1 – Daniel Amick

Written description and illustration/diagram of the analyzed experience

USB drives are extremely common for many different people all over the world. There are very small, and can store a lot of information. However, they are quite fragile. I On multiple occasions I have been sitting inside of a computer lab with a USB device inside of my computer, and I move my chair over to speak with another person in the lab, but accidentally knock the USB device with my knee, leg, or chair. Or I have sitting at home and I need to turn around from my computer desk to go grab something important, like pizza, and I accidentally knock my USB device with my knee, leg, or chair. I have bent and broken likely around 3 USB devices doing this.

dsc00678

Design Process: AEIOU

Activities: Plugging in a USB drive, working/moving around a device with a USB drive plugged into it, pulling out a USB drive

Environments: Any environment that contains a device that a USB drive may be plugged into. Most likely a work desk at home or in a work related office.

Interactions: Plugging in the USB drive, unplugging the USB drive, (hopefully) avoiding or maneuvering around a USB drive possibly sticking out of a device.

Objects: USB drives, desktop computers, laptop computers, any device compatible with USB drives

User: Anyone who would be sitting at desk or walking around in an environment with USB compatible devices.

 

Proposed Intervention Description:

Create a USB drive that has a joint at the “neck” portion of the USB drive. Place the joint likely a little under halfway up the USB drive so that when the USB drive is accidentally kicked, knocked, or hit, instead of bending and breaking, it may just bend like a door hinge. The user may also preemptively bend the USB drive to lay flat against the side of the computer, but still be plugged in, lowering the likelihood that it might be hit or broken.

Proposed Intervention Illustration:

Self-Design Reflection

The main problem I had with designing for myself was that I believe that I do things quite a bit differently than other people. For instance, one solution to this problem could have been a smaller USB device that is simply closer to the device it is plugged into naturally because it is smaller. However, I don’t like this idea because I am just more likely to lose the USB device as it gets smaller. Therefore, I decided a hinge would be the best redesign for me, just not for everyone. This design may also cost more for the small hinge than the naturally smaller design, solely because I prefer it, not even the general public, who use far more USB devices than just me. Thus, I don’t believe that this is the most efficient way to design at all.

Leave a Reply

