Thoughtful Post-It Note – Colton Walker

One comment that I received about my presentation on balancing the Rocket League spawn points was as follows:

Is the unfairness a part of the game?

I found this to be an interesting question because the game difficulty I commented on is literally called “Unfair,” which I always interpreted to only mean that the teams had different numbers of players. However, upon further reflection, it makes sense that they would also call it unfair because the spawn points are unbalanced. This would certainly be a fair response to my suggestion if I did decide to email the creators: “the game mode is called Unfair, what did you expect?”

Still, there are degrees to fairness, and I believe adjusting the spawn points according to my solution would improve upon the game mode while still keeping it unfair.

Leave a Reply

